FES

Fez, Morocco’s spiritual capital

There are not enough adjectives to describe the imperial city of Fez, as there are so many treasures buried in its thirteen centuries of history. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it was founded in 789 by Idriss I, a descendant of the prophet. It is undoubtedly the most authentic city in the whole Maghreb region. Since its foundation, it has shined far beyond the borders of the Kingdom and remains the most faithful guardian of the traditions of Islam. Built in 859, the university of al-Qarawiyyin, created by Fatima El Fihriya is the oldest university in the world, according to UNESCO and many historians. Initially a place of worship, over the centuries it has become a universal teaching center.

The first repository of the splendors of the Hispano-Moorish heritage, Fez is home to a magnificent jewel: one of the largest medinas around the Mediterranean with a prestigious past.
This is why walking the streets of the medina is a journey through time, a time that goes back to the two founders, Idriss I and later his son Idriss II, when each of them founded a city on each side, that of the Andalusians and the Karaouines.

The steps of the visitors will naturally lead them to the heart of the medina, to the Zaouïa of Moulay Idriss, a place of spirituality. Impressively enough, there are about 9,000 alleys in the medina where daily life continues to be punctuated by the countless traders and craftsmen who work there, with copper, wool or leather; the souk of the tanners, with its characteristic smell, is composed of three tanneries, the oldest of which, the Chouara tannery is a thousand years old.

A city of commerce and exchange, it is a multicultural space open to others. Fez welcomed Arabs, Andalusians, and later Westerners. Muslims, Jews, and Christians have lived together there in total tolerance and harmony. You also may visit the house of Maimonides, a Jewish medical astrologer representing scholastic thought.
This cultural richness is expressed every year on the occasion of the Fez Festival of World Sacred Music, whose reputation extends far beyond the borders of the Kingdom.
Fez, a secret city, deserves that we take our time to discover it, it only gives itself up to those who seek to know it.

فاس

فاس، العاصمة الروحية للمملكة

تعجز الكلمات عن وصف مدينة فاس. فلهذه المدينة هالة أكسبتها هيبة بسبب ما تحويه من كنوز راكمتها خلال فترات تاريخها الممتد لثلاثة عشر قرناً.

تأسست فاس سنة 789 على يد إدريس الأول، سليل الرسول صلى الله عليه وسلم، وهي اليوم مدرجة في الموروث العالمي من طرف اليونسكو. ولا أحد يجادل في أن هذه المدينة هي الأكثر أصالة في المغرب الكبير ككل. كما أن إشعاعها، ومنذ تأسيسها، لم يتوقف عند حدود المملكة بل تجاوزها إلى العالم، وهي أفضل حارس لتقاليد الدين الإسلامي. وحسب اليونسكو والعديد من المؤرخين، فإن جامع القرويين الذي أسسته فاطمة الفهرية بفاس هو الأقدم في العالم حيث بدأ بناؤه سنة 859. صحيح أن القرويين بُني ليكون مكان عبادة، إلا أنه أصبح بمرور القرون مكاناً رئيسيا للتعليم الشامل.

وتعتبر فاس أول مستودع لروائع التراث الإسباني-الموريسكي، كما أنها تضم بين ثناياها جوهرة رائعة تتمثل في إحدى أكبر المدن القديمة في محيط البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​ذي الماضي العجيب.

التنزه في المدينة القديمة يعني إذن الانغماس في سفر عبر الزمن يأخذك إلى عصر المؤسسيْن إدريس الأول وإدريس الثاني حينما أسس كل واحد منهما حاضرة على كل عدوة، عدوة الأندلسيين وعدوة القيروانيين.

ومن الطبيعي أن ينتهي السير بالزائر إلى قلب المدينة القديمة صوب فضاء روحاني بامتياز هو زاوية مولاي إدريس. وبعد ذلك لا يبقى سوى التنقل بخفة بين بعض حارات المدينة القديمة البالغ عددها 9000 تمضي فيها الحياة اليومية على إيقاع الأصوات المنبعثة من أعداد لا تحصى من دكاكين التجار والحرفيين الذين يعملون في النحاس أو الصوف أو الجلد. أما سوق الدباغين برائحته المميزة فيتكون من ثلاث مدابغ أقدمها مدبغة شوارة ذات الألف عام.

ولكونها مدينة التجارة والتبادل، فإن فاس تشكل فضاء متعدد الثقافات يفتح بابه للآخر على مصراعيه. فقد استقبلت فاس العرب والأندلسيين والغربيين من بعدهم. كما عاش فيها مسلمون ويهود ومسيحيون في جو من التسامح والتناغم الكامليْن. ويمكننا زيارة منزل بن ميمون، الطبيب والمنجّم اليهودي الذي يعتبر ممثلا لعلم الكلام.

ويتجلى هذا الغنى الثقافي للمدينة كل سنة من خلال مهرجان فاس للموسيقى الروحية الذي تتعدى شهرته الحدود المغربية بكثير.
إن فاس مدينة كتومة تستحق من الواحد منا أن يخصص لها وقتاً لاكتشافها، لأنها لا تبوح بأسرارها إلا لمن يرغب في معرفتها.