In October 2018, the Kingdom of Morocco was officially designated as the host country for the Annual Meetings of the World Bank Group and the International Monetary Fund. This choice is highly symbolic as it marks the return of these Annual Meetings to Africa after they were held for the first time in Nairobi (Kenya) in 1973. It also affirms Morocco’s position on the African continent and the MENA region.

Morocco: Host Country of the Annual Meetings of the World Bank Group and the IMF

The Annual Meetings of the World Bank Group (WBG) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) are the major annual meeting of the international finance community, bringing together leading figures, Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors from 189 member countries of these institutions, as well as representatives of the private sector, NGOs and academia.

The designation of Morocco serves to show the proven capacity of the Kingdom as a privileged destination for organizing major international conferences and the choice of Marrakesh reinforces its reputation as an international city open to the world. The Meetings will be held at Bab Ighli, formerly the main entrance to the old city (the medina), which takes its name from the guards responsible for protecting its access. Bab Ighli, a vast expanse of more than 300 hectares located just outside of the city walls towards the Ourika valley, was the location where the COP22 for Climate was held in November 2016, hosting some 30,000 participants, as well as the First African Summit on Climate Action. In 2014, the 5th Global Entrepreneurship Summit was held at the same location, bringing together Heads of State, high-level government representatives and more than 3,000 entrepreneurs.

Given the high level of stakeholder participation, the 2022 Annual Meetings offer the opportunity for the Kingdom to strengthen its attractiveness and promote its image: a stable and tolerant, open and dynamic country, rich in its intangible heritage, its secular history, its culture, its gastronomy, and also marked by the progress made over the last 20 years at the democratic, social and economic levels.

Morocco is a source of inspiration for the world in the field of solar energy,» Jim Yong Kim noted, also referring to the major projects and socio-economic programs underway in the Kingdom

Morocco is an ideal location for the Annual Meetings of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank Group, which is one of the most important and open gatherings of economic decision-makers from around the world ». « We are grateful to Morocco for having accepted to organize these meetings, » said Kristalina Georgieva, the IMF Managing Director, describing the Kingdom as “an increasingly essential economic player and a gateway to Africa and the Middle East. »

logo-bank

With 189 member countries, staff from more than 170 countries, and offices in over 130 locations, the World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing
countries.

https://www.worldbank.org/

logo-imf

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

https://imf.org/

For more information about the Annual Meetings:

logo-amweb-2
logo-imf

تم في أكتوبر 2018 اختيار المملكة رسمياً لاستضافة الاجتماعات السنوية لمجموعة البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي. ويعد هذا الاختيار بالنسبة للمغرب ، ملتقى طرق أفريقيا بالبحر المتوسط والعالم العربي ذا رمزية مهمة كونه يسجل عودة هذه الاجتماعات إلى أفريقيا بعد انعقادها أول مرة في نيروبي بكينيا سنة 1973

المغرب، البلد المستضيف للاجتماعات السنوية لمجموعة البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي

تعتبر الاجتماعات السنوية لمجموعة البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي الموعدَ السنوي البارز للقطاع المالي الدولي إذ يجمع الوجوه البارزة في هذا المجال، وتحديداً وزراء المالية وولاة البنوك المركزية للبلدان الأعضاء في هاتين المؤسستيْن البالغ عددها 189 بلداً، إضافة إلى ممثلي القطاع الخاص والمنظمات غير الحكومية والوسط الأكاديمي.

ويأتي اختيار المغرب ليعزز سمعة المملكة كوجهة مفضلة لعقد المؤتمرات الدولية الضخمة، كما أن اختيار مراكش يكرس سمعتها كمدينة دولية منفتحة على العالم. ستُنظم الاجتماعات في باب إغلي الذي كان في السابق بوابة المدخل الرئيسي للمدينة القديمة، واسمه مأخوذ من الحراس المسؤولين عن مراقبته. وبمساحته الشاسعة الممتدة على أزيد من 300 هكتار عند مخرج المدينة باتجاه أوريكا، استضاف باب إغلي خلال شهر نونبر 2016 مؤتمر COP 22 حول المناخ والمشاركين فيه البالغ عددهم 30 ألفاً، إضافة إلى القمة الأفريقية الأولى للعمل من أجل المناخ. كما شهد نفس المكان سنة 2014 تنظيم القمة العالمية الخامسة لريادة الأعمال التي جمعت رؤساء الدول وممثلين حكوميين رفيعي المستوى وأكثر من 3000 مقاول

نظرا إلى قيمة المشاركين، فإن الاجتماعات السنوية 2022 تضع بين يدي المملكة فرصة تعزيز جاذبيتها والترويج لصورتها كبلد مستقر يطبعه التسامح والانفتاح والديناميكية، ناهيك عن موروث لامادي غني ،تاريخ ضارب في القِدم ،ثقافة متنوعة وعادات غذائية فريدة اضافة إلى كل ذلك التقدم الذي تحقق في السنوات العشرين الأخيرة على المستوى الديمقراطي والاجتماعي والاقتصادي

المغرب مصدر إلهام بالنسبة للعالم في مجال الطاقة الشمسية”، هذا ما قاله جيم يونغ كيم أثناء حديثه عن الأوراش الكبرى والبرامج الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الجارية في المملكة.

أثناء حديثها عن المغرب، وصفت المديرة العامة لصندوق النقد الدولي، كريستالينا جورجيفا، البلد بأنه “فاعل اقتصادي تزداد أهميته يوما بعد يوم وممر نحو أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط.” وأضافت أن “المغرب مكان مثالي لتنظيم الاجتماعات السنوية لصندوق النقد الدولي وللبنك الدولي، التي تشكل إحدى أهم التجمعات لأبرز صنّاع القرار الاقتصاديين بالعالم وأكثرها انفتاحاً. إننا ممتنون للمغرب لقبوله تنظيم هذا الحدث”.

logo-bank

تعتبر مجموعة البنك الدولي شراكة عالمية فريدة؛ فهي تضم 189 بلداً عضواً وموظفين من أكثر من 170 بلداً، إضافة إلى مكاتب في أكثر من 130 موقعا. وتضم المجموعة خمس مؤسسات تعمل لتحقيق حلول مستدامة لتقليص معدلات الفقر وبناء ازدهار مشترك في البلدان النامية.

https://www.worldbank.org

logo-imf

صندوق النقد الدولي منظمة تضم 189 بلداً، وهي تعمل على تشجيع التعاون الدولي في الميدان النقدي وضمان الاستقرار المالي وتسهيل التجارة الدولية والإسهام في تحقيق نسب عالية في التشغيل والنمو الاقتصادي المستدام وتقليص الفقر عبر العالم.

https://imf.org

للمزيد من المعلومات عن الاجتماعات السنوية لمجموعة البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي مراكش 2021

logo-imf
logo-amweb-2